NFNL: Night of Light Finalists

The Center for Nonprofit Management has announced 15 finalists for its 13th annual A Night of Light Awards of Excellence. The awards recognize excellence in nonprofit management and outstanding contributions the nonprofit sector makes to the community. An independent panel of judges selected three finalists in five categories. The panel was co-chaired by Gwen Echols and Beth McGaw. The winners will be revealed at A Night of Light on Nov. 14 at the Hilton Anatole. This year’s event is being chaired by community leader Matrice Ellis-Kirk.

Winners will receive $5,000 unrestricted cash awards, a crystal award from Tiffany & Co. and a complimentary board training session from the Center for Nonprofit Management.

The 2013 Awards of Excellence finalists include:

-Nonprofit of the Year: Communities in Schools Dallas Region, Dallas Afterschool Network and Low Birth Weight Development Center.
-Nonprofit Communicator of the Year: Children at Risk, New Friends New Life and Prison Entrepreneurship Program.
-Nonprofit CEO of the Year: Robert Alberts, Family Gateway; Sandra G. Chavarria, Communities in Schools Dallas Region; and Lynn M. Davis, Dallas Children’s Advocacy Center.
-Nonprofit Board Leader of the Year: Bart Bartholomew, Parkinson Voice Project; Christie Cahoon, Heroes for Children; and Sally Crawford, Richardson Symphony Orchestra.
-Corporation of the Year: The Container Store, Oncor and Wells Fargo.

The Community Choice Award, which also comes with a $5,000 stipend, will be presented to the nonprofit group that receives the most votes from the community. Online voting will start in July at

A Night of Light, created in 2001, has given $5,000 cash awards to 69 agencies and individuals, a giving total of $345,000.

The Center for Nonprofit Management now helps more than 3,000 nonprofit organizations develop better management and governance skills.

Visit to learn more. Tickets for A Night of Light start at $2,500 for a table of 10.